When I started in my current role six months ago I began by doing some research into our competitors social media channels and other financial services in the UK (something I would always suggest should be a brand first step). A recent email from a social media manager in the US inspired me to put together some of my findings from back then with some statistics from today.

I looked primarily at followers and ‘likes’ on Facebook and Twitter. It’s a little bit holey but hopefully it’ll help or inspire some other social media managers out there. Please let me know if I’ve reported something inaccurately. I’m going to start taking down stats more regularly as I think it’s good to build up a picture over time.

Please click the link below (or the featured photo above) to see my current table which runs (roughly) from September 2010 to March 2011:

UK Financial Services on Twitter and Facebook

Points of interest

It’s all very well having the data but it’s what you do with it that counts.

When following brands and analysing their follower figures it’s important to consider everything that’s happening within the brand. You can do this in a number of ways, by checking out press releases, reading their tweets/comments and reading brand press pages. You may notice that they’ve recently put out a new advertising campaign, been in the national press or launched a new product. All of these factors have large effects on social media accounts.

I always feel that it’s important to look at brands and case-studies outside your industry. For example these stats might help someone looking to improve their social media campaign for a restaurant. There’s always something we can learn. Equally in my research I looked into many popular and less popular brands on these channels. There’s a lot of emphasis on the extremes, the really good account and the appalling ones, it’s important to check out the guys who are doing okay too.

Your analysis should include what you (as social media manager) would do to improve the brand’s situation. Make a few notes on how they can improve and then how you will apply the lessons you have taken away from these brands to your own campaigns.

Don’t throw away your notes when you’ve finished. Make them into a handy little blog post like this to share with the world.

Do you have any financial services insights you can share? Tell the crowd in the comments below.

2 responses »

  1. Rob says:

    Hey have you tried either of these websites for evaluating social media presence and following?

    I find them very useful!

    Famecount
    http://www.famecount.com/

    Social Bakers
    http://www.socialbakers.com/

Leave a Reply

