This is a very quick post to share a thought I’ve been having for some time (my thoughts are definitely like cheese, best when matured) so I thought I’d share my snippet of insight, with real evidence from my blog to back it up.

If you want people to click and comment on your blog.

Then click and comment on theirs!

This was mentioned at the London Blog Club a few sessions ago, and it’s genuinely a good tip. How many times a day do you read something you love and maybe even share but you don’t comment on it? If you commented even half the time you’ll; make yourself known as an expert on the topic or just an engaged person; promote a link to your own blog and create a connection with another blogger that could be useful down the line.

And it genuinely does work, even if only in small quantities. Below is a list of referrals to my blog. Check it out:

As you can see I’ve got quite a few clicks from other blogs like: Six Revisions, ViperChill and NMA. This isn’t because they’ve shared a link to my work, it’s purely because I’ve commented on theirs. And this isn’t just a one-off I get new clicks from people reading these articles for the first time on a daily basis.

Yes these are small numbers now but I only comment on a few articles a week that really take my fancy, but imagine if I kept it up.

Keep your comments concise, polite, relevant, add the value of your experience and share no more than one link and only leave them if you actually read the piece!!

Top tip: Bookmark important and influential blogs, so you can make yours the first comment.

_________________________________________________________

Read more:

Even better refer to other people’s blogs in your posts. Then tell them you’ve linked back!


Enhanced by Zemanta

12 responses »

  1. barrypilling says:

    Good point! Totally agree. Comments make writers feel good and everyone loves feedback.

    It’s one of the reasons why I love youtube, where comments are really well incorporated into the experience – http://www.youtube.com/barrypilling

    Ooh, do I get a click on both links now?? 😉

    • charlotteelizabethclark says:

      Barry I’ve already shared one of you fabulous videos on Twitter, cut me a break 😉 Hehe.
      You definitely deserve more clicks!

      EVERYONE LOOK AT BARRY’S VIDEOS!

      Thanks for commenting 😀

  2. amydavies says:

    They always tell you to do this on pieces about food blogging – do you moderate comments on your blog first or reactively? I always try to offer something insightful if I’m going to comment rather than “great article” or the such like, yes it takes more time, but I think the person reading it is going to appreciate it more, and it’s going to look less like linkbait!

    P.S. What did you post on that day to get so many clicks – wow Twitter does good for you huh!

    • charlotteelizabethclark says:

      I post reactively, so very little moderation except by Akismet spam blocker. I make a point of always replying though. And sadly that’s total Twitter clicks over All Time not just one day (that would rock my world).

      You make a good point though, people deserve nothing more than a kick up the backside if they don’t make an effort with their comments. Plus, noone would check you/you’re link out if you did.

      I’m getting tempted to the WE ALWAYS COMMENT BEFORE WE SHARE club 😉

      Hope you’re having a good day Amy. Heard good things about digital at Future.

      • amydavies says:

        What is the we always comment before we share club?

        Sounds intriguing… what good things have you heard…?

        I like the way WordPress automatically allows comments from people you’ve approved before – good opportunity to let regular commenters immediately see their feedback.

  3. charlotteelizabethclark says:

    I thought I’d start one, it’s just the end of the day so I’m skipping words oops.

    Didn’t know that, it is good indeed! Would love to see your traffic sometime. Bet there’s been a spike in activity 🙂

  4. Keith Davis says:

    Hi Charlotte
    Leaving meaningful comments on other blogs is a great way to build up your own site’s comments.

    It also gives you inbound links, so dofollow, some nofollow, but I think that any link from a decent site is a good link.

    Thanks for the reminder

  5. Yep, it definitely helps, but it’s also kind of cool how it helps you get more acquainted with likeminded people, who write cool blogs 🙂

    @Barry I loved that video – absolutely genius!

    • charlotteelizabethclark says:

      Definitely, I’ve been trying out a tool called Zemanta which suggests posts similar to the one I’m writing when I put my text into WordPress. Certainly interesting to see what else’s out there. Though sometimes I think it’s easier to put down my thoughts and then see what other people think, so my own ideas don’t get too influenced.

  6. Hey Charlotte, I have to agree, comments do let others know that you are out there, even if its just one click a day, that click could hopefully turn out to be a engaged reader in the future! Will

    • charlotteelizabethclark says:

      Definitely, of course we’ve always got to remember that the hardest job is keeping people engaged once they’ve found you. Give them something interesting to read/look at and add value to their experience.

      Thanks for commenting Will!

Leave a Reply

